USTA names recipients of Annual Meeting Awards

April 2, 2011 04:41 PM
The 2011 USTA Annual Award winners represent some of the best and brightest tennis personalities in the United States.
The USTA announced seven winners of its Annual Awards during the USTA Annual Meeting, held April 1-4, 2011, at the Naples Grande Beach Resort in Naples, Fla. The honorees were recognized for their dedication to growing the game at an awards luncheon.

Below are the awards, descriptions and honorees:

Barbara Williams Leadership Award

The Barbara Williams Leadership Award was established in 2003 to honor the late Barbara Williams, a long-time USTA volunteer who gave unselfishly of her time and energy to promote the sport of tennis. It recognizes a female volunteer who, through her leadership and by her example, has encouraged and inspired others to become volunteers and assume leadership roles at the community, section and/or national levels of the United States Tennis Association.
  • Lucy Garvin, Greenville, S.C.
Click here to watch the video.

Brad Parks Award

The Brad Parks Award was established in 2002 to honor an individual or organization that has been instrumental in the development of wheelchair tennis around the world through playing, coaching, sponsoring or promoting the game. The award was named after Brad Parks, a pioneer of wheelchair tennis and the first wheelchair tournament champion.
  • Jim and Annette Buck, Woodland Hills, Calif.
Click here to watch the video.

USTA NJTL Founders’ Service Award

This is the inaugural year of the USTA NJTL Founders’ Service Award. Created by USTA Diversity, this award recognizes an individual NJTL chapter founder who is committed to positive youth development through tennis and education and provides free or low-cost tennis, education and life skills programming to thousands of underserved children each year. The inaugural award will be given to those recipients simulating the values of NJTL founders Charles Pasarell, Sheridan Snyder and Arthur Ashe.
  • Barbara Wynne, Indianapolis, Ind.
Click here to watch the video.

USTA Organizational Member of the Year

The award is given annually and recognizes the outstanding services of a USTA member organization through its commitment to the tennis community, the organization’s members and the game of tennis. The award was instituted in 1981.
  • San Francisco Tennis Club, San Francisco, Calif.
Click here to watch the video.

Ralph W. Westcott USTA Family of the Year Award

The Ralph W. Westcott USTA Family of the Year Award was created in 1965 by the USTA in honor of the late Ralph W. Westcott and to emphasize the theme that "Tennis is a Family Game." The award is made annually to the family who in recent years has done the most to promote amateur tennis, primarily on a volunteer basis. All members of the family should participate in some way, either as players or by offering their services in running programs or tournaments or in junior development activities.
  • The Illges Family, Columbus, Ga.
Click here to watch the video.

Seniors’ Service Award

The Seniors’ Service Award was established in 1958 and is given annually to the person most deserving of the respect and honor of all seniors. It is awarded on the basis of the recipient’s willingness, cooperation and participation, either in play or organizational work, for the betterment and furtherance of senior competition. The award was first awarded to W. Dickson Cunningham of Rahway, N.J., for whom the trophy is named.
  • Carolyn Nichols, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.
Click here to watch the video.

The USTA is the national governing body for the sport of tennis in the U.S. and the leader in promoting and developing the growth of tennis at every level -- from local communities to the highest level of the professional game. A not-for-profit organization with 750,000 members, it invests 100% of its proceeds in growing the game. It owns and operates the US Open, and launched the Olympus US Open Series linking 10 summer tournaments to the US Open. In addition, it owns the 90-plus Pro Circuit events throughout the U.S., is a minority owner and promotional partner of World TeamTennis, and selects the teams for the Davis Cup, Fed Cup, Olympic and Paralympic Games. USTA Serves, the National Charitable Foundation of the USTA, provides financial support for disadvantaged youth and people with disabilities through tennis and education programs. For more information on the USTA, log on to