Teams announced for 2010 ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships

October 7, 2010 03:38 PM
The USTA announced the players who will represent the United States at the 30th ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships hosted by Club Ali Bey Manavgat. Top American men and women tennis players will compete in the 60, 65, 70 and 75 age groups. In addition, there will be a men’s 80 age group. The competition will be held Oct. 11-16 in Antalya, Turkey.

The United States will be defending championships in two of the nine divisions (Britannia Cup & Bitsy Grant Cup) at this year’s Super-Seniors Championships. The American teams finished in the top three in all nine of the divisions last year.

The ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships is the most coveted team event on the ITF Seniors circuit. Since its inception in 1981, the number of competitors taking part in this event has increased each year. In 1993, the ITF made the decision to divide the Seniors World Championships into two groups—Seniors (35-55) and Super-Seniors (60-80 for men and 60-75 for women).

Following the ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships, the World Individual Championships will take place Oct. 17-24.

Below is a list of the players representing the United States at the 2010 ITF Super-Seniors World Team Championships:

Von Cramm Cup-Men's 60 & over
1.  Padg Bolton, Monroe, La.
2.  Brian Cheney, Chandler, Ariz.
3.  Neal Newman, Columbus, Ohio Captain
4.  Larry Turville, Naples, Fla.
Britannia Cup-Men's 65 & over
1. Charlie Hoeveler, Ross, Calif.
2. Jimmy Parker, Santa Fe, N.M
3. Ken Robinson, San Carlos, Calif.  Captain
4.. Hugh Thomson, Norcross, Ga.
Jack Crawford Cup-Men's 70 & over
1.  Joe Bachmann, Sarasota, Fla.
2.  Fred Farzanegan, Tampa, Fla.  Captain
3.  Rudy Hernando, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
4.  Lester Sack, New Orleans, La.

Bitsy Grant Cup-Men's 75 & over
1.  Gordon Hammes, Durham, N.C.  Captain
2.  Chuck Nelson, Santa Monica, Calif.
3.  John Powless, Madison, Wis.
4.  King Van Nostrand, Vero Beach, Fla.

Gardnar Mulloy Cup-Men's 80 & over
1.  John Bradshaw, Indianapolis, Ind.
2.  Clem Hopp, Sarasota, Fla.
3.  Joe Russell, Chagrin Falls, Ohio
4.  Russell Seymour, Tyler, Texas Captain
Alice Marble Cup-Women's 60 & over
1. Brenda Carter, Charleston, S.C.
2. Carol Clay, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., Captain
3. Martha Downing, Shingle Springs, Calif.
4. Kerry Young, Maitland, Fla.
Kitty Godfree Cup-Women's 65 & over
1. Lee Delfausse, Waitsfield, Vt.
2. Charleen Hillebrand, San Pedro, Calif.
3. Suella Steel, La Jolla, Calif.
4. Betty Wachob, Panama City, Fla. Captain
Althea Gibson Cup-Women's 70 & over
1. Dori de Vries, Reno, Nev.
2. Donna Fales, Coral Gables, Fla. Captain
3. Ria Graham, Port Richey, Fla.
4. Carol Wood, Rockville, Md.

Queens' Cup-Women's 75 & over
1. Mary Boswell, Mt. Airy, MD
2. Burnett Herrick, Tarboro, N.C.
3. Dorothy Matthiessen, Pasadena, Calif.
4. Yvonne "Boots" Van Nostrand, Vero Beach, Fla., Captain