Midwest, Middle States Capture Championships at 2010 USTA League Nationals

October 17, 2010 03:33 PM
2010 USTA League 4.5 Senior National Champions – Midwest Men – From Elmhurst, Ill. – (L to R): David C. Martin, David Stefan (co-captain), David Alvah Martin, Steven Frandsen (co-captain), Herbert Sistrunk, Claude Cimino, Michael Grantham, Jimmy Knox
2010 USTA League 4.5 Senior National Champions – Middle States Women - From Philadelphia, Pa. – (L to R): Carrie Majors, Harriet Madeira, Jeanne Craft, Elizabeth Paulin, Lee Roisman (captain), Leslie Pixley, Laura Detwiler-Craft, Candia Barry
The Elmhurst, Ill. men from the USTA Midwest section and the Middle States section women from Philadelphia, Penn., were crowned national league champions this weekend at the 2010 USTA League 4.5 Senior National Championships, held Oct. 15 - Oct. 17 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, CA.

The Midwest men defeated the USTA Mid Atlantic section squad from Fairfax, Va., 2-1 in the final.

Team captain David Stefan attributes the win to "faith in your  teammates, and you always have to have a little luck."

In addition to Stefan, the Elmhurst mens team includes Michael Grantham, Jay Morgan, Steven Frandsen Jimmy Knox, Herbert Sistrunk, Allen Pielet, David Martin, David Alvah Martin, Claude Cimino, Joseph Lydon, and Jim Carney.

In the consolation match, the USTA Southern section men out of Hilton Head, S.C., defeated the USTA Northern section, out of St. Paul, Minn., 3-0.

In the women's final, the USTA Middle States section team out of Philadelphia, Penn., defeated the USTA New England section, out of Burlington, Vt., 3-0.  It was the Philadelphia womens first year together as a team.  Team captain Lee Roisman says it's "just a winning group."  The team also includes Leslie Pixley, Elizabeth Paulin, Carrie Majors, Fran Tomaselli, Harriet Madeira, Candia Barry, Laura Detwiler-Craft,Jeanne Craft, Miriam Arden, and Patricia Keleman.

The USTA Texas section women, from Houston, topped the USTA Florida section women, from Miami, 2-1 to clinch 3rd place.

Congratulations to Bonnie Tetrick.  She won the drawing for a free singles or doubles entry to the National Category 1 tournament of her choice.