Matosevic comes back to beat Sweeting in Calabasas Challenger final

October 26, 2010 06:55 AM
Marinko Matosevic upset Ryan Sweeting for his second USTA Challenger title of the year
By Steve Pratt, special to

-- Marinko Matosevic, the No. 6 seed from Australia, won his second USTA Pro Circuit $50,000 Challenger on Monday, coming back to defeat No. 2-seeded American Ryan Sweeting, 2-6, 6-4, 6-3, in a match that was suspended because of rain on Sunday.

Matosevic, who earned the $7,200 first-place price money, was down a set, 2-6, 2-1, when play was called on Sunday around 5 p.m. He said after the match that he is excited to add his name on the banner of past champions, displayed this year on center court for the first time.

Back in July, Matosevic won the $75,000 Aptos Challenger, beating Donald Young in the final. Matosevic beat the top-seeded and defending champion Young again in the semifinals on Saturday night.

"Our crowds were tremendous, and we had a strong, deep field this year," said Jeff Richards, tournament director. "Besides a little bit of rain, this was our best year. And we're only going to make it better."

On Sunday, USTA Pro Circuit Director Brian Earley was on hand to honor the tournament for 10 years of Pro Circuit events.

Monday's Results:

Singles Final
Marinko Matosevic, Australia, (6), def. Ryan Sweeting, U.S., (2), 2-6, 6-4, 6-3
Prize Money/Points:
Singles ($50,000)          
Winner - $7,200/80
Runner-up - $4,240/48
Semifinalist - $2,510/29
Quarterfinalist - $1,460/15
Round of 16 - $860/7
Round of 32 - $520/--
Doubles (per team)
Winner - $3,100
Runner-up - $1,800
Semifinalist - $1,080
Quarterfinalist - $640
Round of 16 - $360

Calabasas Past Champions:

2009 - Donald Young (USA)
2008 - Vince Spadea (USA)
2007 - Robert Kendrick (USA)
2006 - Mark Philippoussis (AUS)
2005 - Brian Vahaly (USA)
- Ivo Karlovic (CRO)
2003 - Jerome Golmard (FRA)
2002 - Michael Chang (USA)
2001 - Andre Sa (BRA)

2009 - Santiago Gonzalez (MEX) – Simon Stadler (GER)
2008 - Ilija Bozoljac (SRB) – Dusan Vemic (SRB)
2007 - John Isner (USA) – Brian Wilson (USA)
2006 - Robert Kendrick (USA) – Cecil Mamiit (PHI)
2005 - Amer Delic (USA) – Bobby Reynolds (USA)
2004 - Graydon Oliver (USA) – Travis Parrott (USA)
2003 - Justin Gimelstob (USA) – Scott Humphries (USA)
2002 - Paul Rosner (RSA) – Glenn Weiner (USA)
2001 - Ota Fukarek (CZE) – Ivo Heuberger (SUI)
USTA Pro Circuit
With 94 tournaments throughout the country and prize money ranging from $10,000 to $100,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries competed on the USTA Pro Circuit for approximately $3.2 million in prize money and valuable ATP and WTA Tour ranking points. Maria Sharapova, Andy Roddick, James Blake, Lindsay Davenport, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Jelena Jankovic are among the top stars who began their careers on the USTA Pro Circuit. The USTA Pro Circuit is world-class tennis administered on the local level and played on local tennis courts as part of the fabric of communities nationwide — an opportunity for current and new fans to experience the excitement and intensity of the professional game in their neighborhood.