Hawaii, Nor Cal Capture Championships at 2010 USTA League 3.5 Senior Nationals

October 10, 2010 05:31 PM
Hawaii Men's Champions
Northern California Women's Champions
The Honolulu men from the USTA Hawaii section and the Northern California section women from Lake Tahoe, Nev., were crowned national league champions this weekend at the 2010 USTA League 3.5 Senior National Championships, held Oct. 8 - Oct. 10 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in Indian Wells, CA.

The Hawaii men defeated the USTA New England section squad from Trumbull, Conn., 3-0 in the final.

It's the first national championship for the team.  Captain Dennis Yamamoto says it's all about teamwork, and the will to win, "the people in Hawaii thought we'd win, so we did."

The Honolulu men include team captain Dennis Yamamoto, Leroy Tavares, Paul Fujiyama, Elbert Tsuchimoto,Kevin Ching, Rodney Koizumi, Thomas Yoshida, Conrado Ferrer, David Chang, and Mark Nakayama.

In the consolation match, the USTA Southern section men out of Lafayette, LA., defeated the USTA Texas section, out of Fort Worth, 3-0.

In the women's final, the USTA Norcal section team defeated the USTA Florida section, 2-1.  The team credits camaraderie for the win, "you win as a team, you lose as at team." The Noral women included Rebecca Lebuhn, Yrma Haro, Diane Roberts, Parry Yamano, Charna Knerr, Becky Darrow, Susan Glasson, Linda Vollenhals, Karen Neri, Carel James, Carla Paterson, JoJo Conroy, Eddi Quiggle, Julie Zeid, Carol Faccinetti Mary Reu,and Sandra Paul.

The USTA Caribbean section women from San Juan, Puerto Rico, topped the USTA Midwest section women from Naperville, Ill., 3-0 to clinch 3rd place.