Five Americans advance before rain hits at Calabasas Challenger

October 20, 2010 07:50 AM
Top-seed Donald Young dropped only two games in his opening match
By Steve Pratt, special to
– A fierce storm thundered through Southern California on Tuesday, but not before five Americans – including two past champions – were able to secure victories on Day 2 of the USTA Men’s Pro Tennis Championships of Calabasas.
Defending champion and top-seeded Donald Young, 2007 winner and No. 3 Robert Kendrick, Bobby Reynolds, Jesse Witten and Tim Smyczek each won first-round matches before the rain came at the Calabasas Tennis & Swim Center. Wild-card entry Smyczek was the only one needing three sets to win, as he beat Daniel King-Turner of New Zealand, 4-6, 6-3, 6-1.
Play was also delayed until noon Tuesday because of wet courts, but just after 5 p.m., the rain really came washing out play, which will resume on Wednesday with several matches still in progress, including 18-year-old Ryan Harrison’s match. Harrison is leading No. 5-seeded Izak Van Der Merwe of South Africa, 6-4, 1-1.

Harrison is also scheduled to play doubles on Wednesday with Travis Rettenmaier. The pair will play the wild-card team of Kevin Kim and Mark Ein, owner of the Washington Kastles of the World TeamTennis league.
Tuesday's Results:

First-Round Singles
(wc: wild card; q: qualifier)
Jesse Witten, U.S., def. Michael McClune (U.S.), 6-2, 6-3
Donald Young, U.S., (1) def. Michael Yani (U.S.) 6-1, 6-1
Robert Kendrick, U.S. (3) def. Luis Perez-Perez (Spain), 6-3, 7-5
Frederik Nielsen, Denmark, def. Carsten Ball, Australia, (4), 6-3, 6-3
Bobby Reynolds, U.S., def. Jesse Levine, U.S., 6-3, 6-4
Tim Smyczek, U.S., (wc)  def. Daniel King-Turner, New Zealand, 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
Nikoloz Basilashvili, Georgia, (q) def. Alex Kuznetsov, U.S., 7-5, 7-5
First-Round Doubles
Philip Bester, Canada, / Ashwin Kumar (U.S.) def. Brett Joelson, U.S., / Phillip Simmonds, U.S., (wc), 6-3, 6-3

Wednesday’s Order of Play:

CENTER start 10 a.m.

R DeHeart (U.S.) vs. [6] M Matosevic (AUS)
N Monroe (U.S.), (q) vs. [2] R Sweeting (U.S.)
[8] J Millman (AUS) vs. L Cook (U.S.)
[WC] M Ein (U.S.) / K Kim (U.S.) vs [3] R Harrison (U.S.) / T Rettenmaier (U.S.)
Not Before 6 p.m.
D King-Turner (NZL) / F Nielsen (DEN) vs L Cook (U.S.) / A Delic (BIH)
[WC] G Sacks (RSA) vs [WC] C Mamiit (PHI)
COURT 3 start 10 a.m.
G Jones (AUS) vs [Q] D Kosakowski (U.S.)
[5] Izak Van Der Merwe (RSA) vs R Harrison (U.S.) - To Finish 46 11
Not Before 1 p.m.
A Kuznetsov (U.S.) / T Smyczek (U.S.) vs C Ball (AUS) / M Matosevic (AUS)
J Fruttero (U.S.) / I Van Der Merwe (RSA) vs [2] D Martin (U.S.) / T Parrott (U.S.)
COURT 6 start
Not Before 11 a.m
R de Voest (RSA) vs J Lemke (AUS) - To Finish 67(5) 60 14
Not Before 1 p.m.
G Jones (AUS) / J Witten (U.S.) vs [Q] C Klingemann (CAN) / M Venus (NZL)
[1] R DeHeart (U.S.) / P Duclos (CAN) vs N Monroe (U.S.) / D Young (U.S.)

For a schedule of events and other details, check out the official website,

Prize Money/Points:
Singles ($50,000)          
Winner - $7,200/80
Runner-up - $4,240/48
Semifinalist - $2,510/29
Quarterfinalist - $1,460/15
Round of 16 - $860/7
Round of 32 - $520/--
Doubles (per team)
Winner - $3,100
Runner-up - $1,800
Semifinalist - $1,080
Quarterfinalist - $640
Round of 16 - $360
Community Events:
Friday, Oct. 22 – Pro-Am Drill, 9-11 a.m.; Pro Exhibition, 6-7 p.m.
Saturday, Oct. 23 – USTA Junior Team Tennis Kids’ Day, 2-3:30 p.m.

Calabasas Past Champions:

2009 - Donald Young (USA)
2008 - Vince Spadea (USA)
2007 - Robert Kendrick (USA)
2006 - Mark Philippoussis (AUS)
2005 - Brian Vahaly (USA)
- Ivo Karlovic (CRO)
2003 - Jerome Golmard (FRA)
2002 - Michael Chang (USA)
2001 - Andre Sa (BRA)

2009 - Santiago Gonzalez (MEX) – Simon Stadler (GER)
2008 - Ilija Bozoljac (SRB) – Dusan Vemic (SRB)
2007 - John Isner (USA) – Brian Wilson (USA)
2006 - Robert Kendrick (USA) – Cecil Mamiit (PHI)
2005 - Amer Delic (USA) – Bobby Reynolds (USA)
2004 - Graydon Oliver (USA) – Travis Parrott (USA)
2003 - Justin Gimelstob (USA) – Scott Humphries (USA)
2002 - Paul Rosner (RSA) – Glenn Weiner (USA)
2001 - Ota Fukarek (CZE) – Ivo Heuberger (SUI)
USTA Pro Circuit
With 94 tournaments throughout the country and prize money ranging from $10,000 to $100,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries competed on the USTA Pro Circuit for approximately $3.2 million in prize money and valuable ATP and WTA Tour ranking points. Maria Sharapova, Andy Roddick, James Blake, Lindsay Davenport, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Jelena Jankovic are among the top stars who began their careers on the USTA Pro Circuit. The USTA Pro Circuit is world-class tennis administered on the local level and played on local tennis courts as part of the fabric of communities nationwide — an opportunity for current and new fans to experience the excitement and intensity of the professional game in their neighborhood.