D'Novo, Riviera ITA All-American Tennis Championships preview

September 29, 2010 03:21 PM
SKILLMAN, N.J. -- The D'Novo Men's and Riviera Women's ITA All-American Tennis Championships offer the first national singles and doubles titles of the 2010-11 collegiate tennis season.

Both tournaments include six rounds of prequalifying and qualifying matches beginning Saturday, Oct. 2, 2010. The Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships will be hosted by the Riviera Tennis Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif., for the 26th consecutive year, while the D'Novo/ITA Men's All-American Championships, are being hosted by the University of Tulsa in Tulsa, Okla., for the fourth straight year.

Highlighting this year's men's singles field is top seed John-Patrick Smith of the University of Tennessee, who last year became only the third player in history and the first since 1998 to win both the singles and doubles titles at the ITA All-American Championships. Smith, who finished the 2010 spring campaign ranked No. 2 in the Campbell/ITA Singles Rankings and No. 3 in the Campbell/ITA Doubles Rankings, moves up one spot to reclaim the top spot that he held for nearly half of last season, becoming the first Vol since Chris Woodruff in 1993 to achieve such a feat.

Headlining this year's Riviera/ITA Women's All-American field is Jana Juricova of the University of California-Berkeley. Juricova became Cal's first ITA National Indoor Champion, knocking off Campbell/ITA Player of the Year Irina Falconi in the final. Ending the year ranked No. 2 in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings, the junior also finished runner-up in the NCAA Women's Singles Championship. Before dropping the title tilt to Georgia's Chelsey Gullickson, Jana won 19 consecutive matches en route to a 44-7 record in singles and a 23-3 mark in duals with current partner Mari Andersson, who shared the NCAA Doubles title together in 2009.

Past ITA All-American champions include current professionals Benjamin Becker (Baylor), James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Irina Falconi (Georgia Tech), Laura Granville (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), Kevin Kim (UCLA) and Lisa Raymond (Florida).

You can catch all the tournament action on www.itatennis.com.