Defending Doubles Champions Headline Doubles Fields

Western & Southern Open Defending Champions

Headline Doubles Fields


CINCINNATI (Aug. 11, 2020) – Both the women’s and men’s defending champions are among the initial entries to play doubles at the 2020 Western & Southern Open, which will be held Aug. 20-28 at the USTA Billie Jean King Tennis Center in New York.


The 2019 WTA doubles winners – Lucie Hradecka and Andreja Klepac – are joined by the ATP Tour champions – Ivan Dodig and Filip Polasek – to headline the early entries.


Other notable entries on the women’s side include the teenage pairing of Cincinnati’s 18-year-old Caty McNally and 16-year-old Coco Gauff. Dubbed “McCoco,” the duo won a pair of WTA titles in 2019 – at Washington, D.C. and Luxembourg – and reached the US Open Round of 16.


Elise Mertens and Aryna Sabalenka, who finished 2019 atop the WTA Porsche Race to Shenzen as the season’s No. 1 team, are also in the field. Reigning Australian Open singles champion Sofia Kenin, a 21-year-old American, has entered with former Western & Southern Open singles and doubles winner Victoria Azarenka.


The top two teams in the ATP Tour doubles race are entered in the men’s draw. The No. 1 team of Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah is returning after reaching two straight Western & Southern Open finals. They are joined in the field by the No. 2 team of Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo.


The ATP Tour No. 1 ranked singles player, Novak Djokovic, has entered the doubles draw with countryman Filip Krajinovic.


An additional five women’s teams and six men’s duos will join the fields through on-site entries, while the tournament will award three wild cards into each draw to complete the 32-team fields.


There are 10 total former champions entered in the men’s and women’s singles draws for the 2020 Western & Southern Open. The ATP field includes defending champion Daniil Medvedev along with Djokovic (2018 winner), Grigor Dimitrov (2017), Marin Cilic (2016) and two-time champion Andy Murray (2008, 11).


Two-time champion Serena Williams (2014-15) will join defending champion Madison Keys, and past winners Garbiñe Muguruza (2017), Karolina Pliskova (2016) and Kim Clijsters (2010) in the WTA field.


Forty-eight players from both the ATP Tour and WTA will battle for 12 main draw singles berths during the two-round qualifying event.


Here are the early entrants into the doubles fields:


ATP Tour



Rohan Bopanna (IND) / Denis Shapovalov (CAN)


Shuko Aoyama (JPN) / Ena Shibahara (JPN)

Juan Sebastian Cabal (COL) / Robert Farah (COL)


Victoria Azarenka (BLR) / Sofia Kenin (USA)

Novak Djokovic (SRB) / Filip Krajinovic (SRB)


Anna Blinkova (RUS) / Veronika Kudermetova (RUS)

Ivan Dodig (CRO) / Filip Polasek (SVK)


Jennifer Brady (USA) / Caroline Dolehide (USA)

Daniel Evans (GBR) / David Goffin (BEL)


Hayley Carter (USA) / Luisa Stefani (BRA)

Cristian Garin (CHI) / Casper Ruud (NOR)


Kaitlyn Christian (USA) / Giuliana Olmos (MEX)

Marcel Granollers (ESP) / Horacio Zeballos (ARG)


Gabriela Dabrowski (CAN) / Alison Riske (USA)

Hubert Hurkacz (POL) / John Isner (USA)


Sharon Fichman (CAN) / Darija Jurak (CRO)

Karen Khachanov (RUS) / Andrey Rublev (RUS)


Kristen Flipkens (BEL) / Alison Van Uytvanck (BEL)

Raven Klaasen (RSA) / Oliver Marach (AUT)


Anna-Lena Friedsam (GER) / Katerina Siniakova (CZE)

Wesley Koolhof (NED) / Nikola Mektic (CRO)


Coco Gauff (USA) / Caty McNally (USA)

Kevin Krawietz (GER) / Andreas Mies (GER)


Alexa Guarachi (CHI) / Desirae Krawczyk (USA)

Lukas Kubot (POL) / Marcelo Melo (BRA)


Nao Hibino (JPN) / Makoto Ninomiya (JPN)

Nicolas Mahut (FRA) / Jan-Lennard Struff (GER)


Lucie Hradecka (CZE) / Andreja Klepac (SLO)

Jurgen Melzer (AUT) / Edouard Roger-Vasselin (FRA)


Oksana Kalashnikova (GEO) / Alla Kudryavtseva (RUS)

Mate Pavic (CRO) / Bruno Soares (BRA)


Lyudmyla Kichenok (UKR) / Nadiia Kichenok (UKR)

John Peers (AUS) / Michael Venus (NZL)


Bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA) / Shuai Zhang (CHN)

Guido Pella (ARG) / Diego Schwartzman (ARG)


Nicole Melichar (USA) / Yifan Xu (CHN)

Sam Querrey (USA) / Jack Sock (USA)


Elise Mertens (BEL) / Aryna Sabalenka (BLR)

Rajeev Ram (USA) / Joe Salisbury (GBR)


Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) / Ajla Tomljanovic (AUS)

Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) / Horia Tecau (ROU)


Asia Mohammed (USA) / Taylor Townsend (USA)

Jamie Murray (GBR) / Neal Skupski (GBR)


Ellen Perez (AUS) / Storm Sanders (AUS)

Jeremy Chardy (FRA) / Fabrice Martin (FRA)


Kveta Peschke (CZE) / Demi Schuurs (NED)



Arina Rodionova (AUS) / Sabrina Santamaria (USA)



Qualifying will be held Aug. 20-21, while main draw singles and doubles action for the ATP Masters 1000 and WTA Premier 5 event will take place Aug. 22-28.


About the Western & Southern Open

The Western & Southern Open takes place at the Lindner Family Tennis Center, 20 miles north of Cincinnati in Mason, Ohio. The tournament is one of the prestigious ATP Masters 1000 events on the men's tour and a Premier 5 event for the Women's Tennis Association (WTA). The W&S Open is the largest annual summer sporting event in the US Midwest, hosting fans from all 50 states and more than 35 countries with more than 50 million global viewers in more than 160 countries. The tournament is also one of the last stops on the US Open Series before the US Open in New York. Since 1974, the tournament has contributed more than $11 million to various beneficiaries including Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, the Barrett Cancer Center and Tennis for City Youth. For more information, visit


About the US Open Series

The US Open Series serves as a true “regular season” of summer tennis in North America, linking nine summer WTA and ATP Tour tournaments to the US Open. Featuring a cohesive weekly schedule, the Series centralizes the way tennis is viewed in North America, across multiple television and digital platforms. Fans will see today's top champions go head-to-head with tomorrow's emerging stars, as storylines develop throughout the summer season. Each tournament also engages its local community with a variety of outreach initiatives, including grass-roots youth tennis clinics and activities.


About the WTA

Founded by Billie Jean King in 1973 on the principle of equal opportunity for women in sports, the WTA is the global leader in women’s professional sport with more than 1,650 players representing 84 nations competing for a record $180 million in prize money. In 2019, the WTA was watched by a record breaking global audience of 700 million. The 2019 WTA competitive season includes 53 events and four Grand Slams in 28 countries and regions. The season culminates with the Shiseido WTA Finals Shenzhen, offering a $14 million total prize purse and honoring the season’s top singles and doubles players. Further information on the WTA can be found at


About the ATP

The ATP is the governing body of the men's professional tennis circuits - the ATP Tour, the ATP Challenger Tour and the ATP Champions Tour. With 64 tournaments in 30 countries, the ATP Tour showcases the finest male athletes competing in the world’s most exciting venues. From Australia to Europe and the Americas to Asia, the stars of the 2020 ATP Tour will battle for prestigious titles and FedEx ATP Rankings points at ATP Masters 1000, 500 and 250 events, as well as Grand Slams (non ATP events). The 2020 season launched with the inaugural ATP Cup in Australia and will culminate with only the world’s top 8 qualified singles players and doubles teams competing for the last title of the season at the Nitto ATP Finals in November. Held at The O2 in London, the event will officially crown the 2020 ATP Tour No. 1. For more information, please visit